Flattery (smh)

Daily Prompt: Flattery

Flattery (smh)

These words,

true or false?

At first I couldn’t tell.

Irritation came upon me

as I saw how empty they were.

 

This flattery, I had to ignore

and gradually permanently detach.

Why say words that mean absolutely nothing

why deceive for selfish gain?

 

At times like these I wish people would

be transparent, tell me what’s really going on.

If I knew, I wouldn’t waste so much time

we could go ahead and see if we are to go our

separate ways. I’ll continue on with my business

and they’ll probably find what they’re looking for…

 

Whatever they wanted, they won’t find it from me

for their information, I value my time and within that time

I have no room for games.

 

Leave a Reply

