Thinking Big, Dreaming Big

When I was a child, I used to dream big. I would think big, talk big, as if nothing were impossible.

Then I grew older. A lot of times when I would talk big, people would say that “You need to think realistically,” “How are you going to make a living from this?” and the reluctant, “Okay…”

I would internalize these thoughts and thought to myself, “Maybe I just can’t be at the top. I was just meant to be mediocre.”

But these statements aren’t true and I refuse to believe them any longer. No one should believe these negative statements.

Today for the very first time, I went out looking for a car. Years ago I saw myself looking to buy a old and beat up cars. But I am so done with that mentality. I didn’t go to a sketchy and shabby lot, I went to lots with new cars. The oldest car I looked at was a 2010 model.

I want to start out with a car that I really like. A nice one that looks and rides good. Doesn’t everyone have that right?

Yes, I’ve heard that sometimes people need to start out small, which I understand. But where a lot of people get stuck is when they think they have to stay small.

I thought I had to start out small and stay there for all my life but I don’t. I know God wants me to have nice things and He wants you to have nice things too. All we need to do is ask and believe for them.

I’m not sure why people think that they don’t deserve nice things or fancy things. It’s good to be humble but it’s not good to be miserable and have a “small” mindset. Have big dreams, think big! Sure at times you have to start out small but don’t stop there. Expand! Use whatever is small as a stepping stone. Maybe I will get an older car for my first car. But later I could sell it and use that money for a new nicer car that I was looking at today, or sow it as a seed and give it to someone who doesn’t have a vehicle. You sow what you reap. I’m not saying sow an old car and get an old car. I’m saying sow an old car and reap a nicer one! That’s what my mom did!

When I was looking at newer cars today, I was looking at my future. I was looking a bright, nice future that involves comfort. Everyone deserves a bright future with comfort, and everyone has this kind of future if they make good choices and dream and think big!

Leave a Reply

